Apple Pay will be available for Westpac customers by June 2020, meaning all four of Australia’s big banks will offer the digital payment method next year. 

Westpac also announced Apple Pay is available from today for customers at its smaller banks – St.George, BankSA and Bank of Melbourne – provided they have an eligible Visa debit or credit card.

The news marks the end of a long-running stalemate between the incumbents and the tech giant over its mobile payment hardware which Apple has refused to share with the banks for their own use.

Westpac was the final holdout of the big four but its new Group Chief Executive, Consumer, David Lindberg, said delivering Apple Pay had been a priority for him this year.

All of the big four had resisted the American tech giant’s payment system initially, including launching their own rival digital wallet Beem. Australia’s big banks also tried to team up to negotiate a deal with Apple to allow them to use the NFC technology in iPhones and potentially pass on the fees Apple charges to customers. 

But the ACCC scuppered the alliance in 2016 and ANZ, CBA, and NAB have since rolled out Apple’s mobile payment system, as it became a matter of customer acquisition.

Midway through next year Australia’s oldest bank will join them and from today customers at its subsidiary banks can begin using the technology.

“We’re excited to introduce Apple Pay for St.George, Bank of Melbourne and BankSA, as part of our commitment to changing our business to better meet the needs of our customers,” said Lindberg.

“We want to assure Westpac customers we are working to bring them Apple Pay as quickly as possible, while we roll-out the technology across our different banking platforms.”

Previous post

Coles’ Transformation Highlighted at Inaugural Australian Accessibility Awards

Next post

Women finally make up 30 per cent of ASX200 board seats - 12 months later than planned